UPDATED: More Than 50 Members of Congress Are Skipping The Inauguration

Posted: Jan 17, 2017 10:40 AM
UPDATED: More Than 50 Members of Congress Are Skipping The Inauguration

I wrote on Sunday about the growing number of Democratic members of Congress who would be skipping the inauguration on Friday. At the time, the tally was at 26, but now, just days away from the event, the number has grown to more than 40.

The full list (additional representatives added after publication are in bold): 

  • Rep. Ruben Gallego (D-AZ)
  • Rep. Raul Grijalva (D-AZ) 
  • Rep. Karen Bass (D-CA)
  • Rep. Tony Cárdenas (D-CA)
  • Rep. Judy Chu (D-CA) 
  • Rep. Mark DeSaulnier (D-CA) 
  • Rep. Jared Huffman (D-CA)
  • Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA)
  • Rep. Ted Lieu (D-CA)
  • Rep. Zoe Lofgren (D-CA)
  • Rep. Grace Napolitano (D-CA)
  • Rep. Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA)
  • Rep. Raul Ruiz (D-CA)
  • Rep. Mark Takano (D-CA) 
  • Rep. Maxine Waters (D-CA) 
  • Rep. Alcee Hastings (D-FL)
  • Rep. Darren Soto (D-FL) 
  • Rep. Frederica Wilson (D-FL)
  • Rep. John Lewis (D-GA) 
  • Rep. Luis Gutierrez (D-IL) 
  • Rep. John Yarmuth (D-KY)
  • Rep. Chellie Pingree (D-ME)
  • Rep. Katherine Clark (D-MA)
  • Rep. Anthony Brown (D-MD)
  • Rep. Jamie Raskin (D-MD)
  • Rep. John Conyers (D-MI)
  • Rep. Keith Ellison (D-MN)
  • Rep. William Lacy Clay (D-MO) 
  • Rep. Carol Shea-Porter (D-NH)
  • Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman (D-NJ)
  • Rep. Yvette Clarke (D-NY) 
  • Rep. Adriano Espaillat (D-NY) 
  • Rep. Jerrold Nadler (D-NY)
  • Rep. Jose Serrano (D-NY)
  • Rep. Louise Slaughter (D-NY)
  • Rep. Nydia Velazquez (D-NY)
  • Rep. Alma Adams (D-NC)
  • Rep. G.K. Butterfield (D-NC)
  • Rep. Marcia Fudge (D-OH)
  • Rep. Earl Blumenauer (D-OR)
  • Rep. Peter DeFazio (D-OR)
  • Rep. Kurt Schrader (D-OR)
  • Rep. Brendan Boyle (D-PA)
  • Rep. Bob Brady (D-PA)
  • Rep. Mike Doyle (D-PA)
  • Rep. Dwight Evans (D-PA)
  • Rep. Steve Cohen (D-TN)
  • Rep. Joaquin Castro (D-TX)
  • Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-TX)
  • Rep. Al Green (D-TX)
  • Rep. Don Beyer (D-VA)
  • Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D-WA)
  • Rep. Adam Smith (D-WA)
  • Rep. Mark Pocan (D-WI)

This post will be updated if more Congressmen announce that they're not going.