Here's Why the Chinese Military Surrounded Taiwan on Thursday
Pentagon, White House Have Different Accounts of How Aid Delivery Off Floating Pier...
Here's Who Just Entered the Race for Senate GOP Leader
'Outrageous': Bolton Rips New Hit Piece Against Alito Over a Flag
American Desecration
The DOJ and 30 Attorneys General Have Filed a Lawsuit Against Ticketmaster
'Safe Haven for Antisemitic Agitators': Jim Banks Blasts Northwestern Over Pro-Hamas Facul...
Poll: Would Kamala Harris Be Stronger Than Biden Against Trump?
New Privacy Legislation Risks US National Security. Republicans Should Steer Clear.
Is New Hampshire Another State in Play?
'International Organization With No Real Legitimacy': Support for Chip Roy's Bill Sanction...
A Clinic Provided a Washington School District With a ‘Transgender Survey’ for Students
Rashida Tlaib Paid Anti-Israel Consultant Tied to Terrorist-Linked Groups
Another State Banned So-Called 'Transition Care' for Minors
Uh Oh: Whistleblower Documents Suggest Hunter Biden Repeatedly Lied Under Oath

Wright appoints Committee on Committees

The opinions expressed by columnists are their own and do not necessarily represent the views of
PHOENIX, Ariz. (BP)--Appointments to the Southern Baptist Convention's Committee on Committees have been announced by SBC President Bryant Wright. Wright, pastor of Johnson Ferry Baptist Church in Marietta, Ga., announced the appointments in accordance with SBC Bylaw 19 which requires that their names be released to Baptist Press no later than 45 days prior to the annual meeting.

The Committee on Committees will assemble in Phoenix, Ariz., just prior to the June 14-15 SBC annual meeting to nominate members of the Committee on Nominations, who, in turn, nominate trustees to serve on boards of the various entities of the SBC. SBC Bylaw 19 also provides that the Committee on Committees "shall nominate all special committees authorized during the sessions of the Convention not otherwise provided for."

The Committee on Committees has 70 members, two from each of the 35 state or regional conventions qualified for representation on boards of SBC entities.

Gregg Matte, pastor of Houston's First Baptist Church, Houston, Texas, has been designated to serve as committee chairman.

Committee members are:

ALABAMA -- Danny Wood, Shades Mountain Baptist Church, Birmingham; Roy Hill, First Baptist Church, Satsuma.

ALASKA -- Ruby Stogsdill, First Baptist Church, Soldotna; Jack Sherman, First Baptist Church, Palmer.

ARIZONA -- Susan Bellflower, First Baptist Church, Phoenix; Steve Hanna, Emmanuel Baptist Church, Tucson.

ARKANSAS -- Scott Maze, First Baptist Church, Van Buren; Donnie Edwards, Dallas Avenue Baptist Church, Mena.

CALIFORNIA -- Reta Beall, Lincoln Hill Community Church, San Rafael; Deryl Lackey, Iglesia Bautista Emmanuel, Riverside.

COLORADO -- Steve Turrentine, Pikes Peak Park Baptist Church, Colorado Springs; Ray Shirley, Monument Baptist Church, Grand Junction.


DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA -- Deepak Reju, Capitol Hill Baptist Church, Washington, D.C.; Matt Merker, Capitol Hill Baptist Church, Washington, D.C.

FLORIDA -- John Bozard, First Baptist Church, Orlando; Steve Morris, First Baptist Church, Plant City.

GEORGIA -- Darrell Henry, Oakwood Baptist Church, Chickamauga; Michael Bass, Greenwood Baptist Church, Valdosta.

HAWAII -- Patrick Underwood, Mililani Baptist Church, Mililani; Chris Martin, Lahaina Baptist Church, Lahaina.

ILLINOIS -- Michael Allen, Uptown Baptist Church, Chicago; Mark Emerson, Living Faith Baptist Church, Sherman.

INDIANA -- Scott Miller, Graceland Baptist Church, Graceland; Don Morris, First Baptist Church North Vernon, North Vernon.

KANSAS-NEBRASKA -- Derrick Lynch, Blue Valley Baptist Church, Overland Park, Kan.; Charles Boswell, Immanuel Baptist Church, Wichita, Kan.

KENTUCKY -- Charles Barnes, Hurstbourne Baptist Church, Louisville; Robert Lowery, First Baptist Church, Central City.

LOUISIANA -- Ray Raney, First Baptist Church, Bossier City; Bert Langley, Calvary Baptist Church, Alexandria.

MARYLAND-DELAWARE -- Fred Caudle, St. Charles First Baptist Church, St. Charles, Md.; Brian Corrick, Nanjemoy Baptist Church, Nanjemoy, Md.

MICHIGAN -- Kevin Knox, Eastgate Baptist Church, Burton; Sharon Greer, Roscommon Baptist Church, Roscommon.

MISSOURI -- Kendra Franks, First Baptist Church, Branson; Matt Kearns, StoneBridge Community Church, Jefferson City.


MISSISSIPPI -- Matt Buckles, First Baptist Church of Vicksburg, Vicksburg; Shawn Parker, First Baptist Church, Columbus.

NORTH CAROLINA -- Andy Davis, First Baptist Church, Durham; Rick Langston, The Summit Church, Durham.

NEW ENGLAND -- Samy Ibrahim, Arabic Baptist Church, Boston; Mark Smith, North Park Baptist Church, Bridgeport, Conn.

NEW MEXICO -- Dave McFadden, First Baptist of Portales, Portales; Gavin Vaughn, II, Hermosa Drive Baptist Church, Artesia.

NORTHWEST -- Marsha Gray, CrossPointe Baptist Church, Vancouver, Wash.; Scott Brewer, Meadowbrook Church, Redmond, Wash.

NEVADA -- David Pretlove, Life Church, Reno; Pei Jones, Green Valley Baptist Church, Henderson.

NEW YORK -- Eddie Hatcher, Northside Baptist Church, Liverpool, N.Y.;

Ted Harvey, Somerset Hills Baptist Church, Basking Ridge, N.J.

OHIO -- Mark Wilson, North Fairfield Baptist Church, Hamilton; Rick Shoemaker, First Baptist Church, New Carlisle.

OKLAHOMA -- Dennis Dawson, First Baptist Church, Lawton; Bob Green, Arrow Heights Baptist Church, Broken Arrow.

PENNSYLVANIA-SOUTH JERSEY -- Roger Manao, Philadelphia Bible Church, International, Philadelphia; Aaron Harvie, Riverside Community Church, Horsham, Penn.

SOUTH CAROLINA -- Marshall Blalock, First Baptist Church, Charleston; Brad Bessent, Beulah Baptist Church, Hopkins.

TENNESSEE -- Roland Maddox, First Baptist Church, Sevierville; Michael Day, Bellevue Baptist Church, Cordova.


TEXAS -- Greg Matte, Houston's First Baptist Church, Houston, chair; Terry Turner, Mesquite Friendship Baptist Church, Mesquite.

UTAH-IDAHO -- Mike Gray, Canyons Baptist Church, Salt Lake City, Utah; Larry Maxwell, Mt. Idaho Baptist Church, Grangeville, Idaho.

VIRGINIA -- Randy Haun, Colonial Heights Baptist Church, Colonial Heights; Tim Piland, Nansemond River Baptist Church, Suffolk.

WEST VIRGINIA -- Todd Hill, Grace Baptist Church, Parkersburg; Warren Gilpin, Ansted Baptist Church, Ansted.

WYOMING -- Peggy Nikkel, Mountain View Baptist Church, Mills; Guy Thomas, Sunrise Baptist Church, Casper.

Copyright (c) 2011 Southern Baptist Convention, Baptist Press

Join the conversation as a VIP Member


Trending on Townhall Videos