The 2020 Democrats: Mike Gravel

Posted: Jun 03, 2019 11:45 AM
The 2020 Democrats: Mike Gravel

Source: AP Photo/Jim Cole

*See our full list of 2020 Democrats here*

Quick Facts

Who: Mike Gravel

State: Alaska

Current position/Experience: 2020 presidential candidate, 2008 presidential candidate, former U.S. Sen. of Alaska (1969-1981) 

Campaign Website:

Background: Mike Gravel is a former U.S. Sen. of Alaska who served from 1969-1981. He also served in the Alaska Senate from 1963-1966, which included two years as speaker of the house. Gravel is best known for putting the Pentagon Papers into public record in 1971, and also attempting to end the draft during the Vietnam War. He was a Democratic presidential candidate in the 2008 presidential election, but garnered very little support in both the polls and primaries. Gravel does not intend to seek the Democratic nomination for the 2020 presidential election, rather his goal is to appear in the Democratic debates. His presidential campaign tweeted that their "only aim is pushing the field left by appearing in the Democratic debates. Donate as little as you like, but help us get to the necessary 65k donors!" Once Gravel makes it to the Democratic debates, he intends to drop out and endorse the most progressive candidate. 

2020 Campaign & Endorsements   

  • Date Announced: April 2, 2019

  • Fundraising: 

  • Campaign Leadership: David Oks

  • Key Endorsements: 

Political Positions

Mike Gravel 2020 Presidential Campaign Platform


  • Pete Buttigieg: Gravel ran into some controversy when he said fellow Democratic presidential candidate Pete Buttigieg campaigns mostly on "the fact that he's gay" during an interview with Hill TV. Gravel later apologized by releasing a statement on Twitter saying that he "misspoke."

This piece is part of our Election 2020 series. See below for more information on the most talked about Democrats challenging President Trump.

Who Is Bernie Sanders?

Who Is Elizabeth Warren?

Who Is Kamala Harris?

Who Is Pete Buttigieg?

Who Is Beto O’Rourke?

Who Is Kamala Harris?

Who Is Cory Booker?

Who Is Eric Swalwell?

Who Is Amy Klobuchar?