Who Were The Eight Republicans Who Sided With Democrats Against Earmarks Ban?

Posted: Nov 30, 2010 11:16 AM
Earlier this morning, the Democrat-controlled US Senate soundly rejected a GOP effort to ban earmarks.  Most Republicans (who recently adopted an internal anti-earmarks stance) supported the wider ban, while most Democrats (whose addiction  to federal spending is well documented) helped defeat it.  Fifteen Senators, however, bucked the party line and voted with the other side.  Who were they?  The Sunlight Foundation has assembled a handy list that answers that question:

Here are the Republicans voting no (8):

Bob Bennett (R-UT) – defeated for reelection, Appropriations Committee
Thad Cochran (R-MS) – Ranking Member, Appropriations Committee
Susan Collins (R-ME) – Appropriations Committee
James Inhofe (R-OK)
Richard Lugar (R-IN)
Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) – Appropriations Committee
Richard Shelby (R-AL) – Appropriations Committee
George Voinovich (R-OH) – retiring, Appropriations Committee

Here are the Democrats voting yes (7):

Evan Bayh (D-IN) – retiring
Michael Bennet (D-CO) – freshman
Russ Feingold (D-WI) – defeated for reelection
Claire McCaskill (D-MO) – freshman, up for reelection in 2012
Bill Nelson (D-FL) – up for reelection in 2012
Mark Udall (D-CO) – freshman
Mark Warner (D-VA) – freshman

Most Popular