Is This Why Harmeet Dhillon Fell Short in RNC Chair Race?
Photos: Aftermath of Looting in Memphis
Memphis Drivers React to Being Stuck in Traffic Due to BLM Protest
A Quick Bible Study, Vol. 150: The 10 Commandments Are Not the 10...
The Christian's Duty to Stand for Life
More Than a Motto — the Fight Between Truth and Modern-Day Values
Palestinian Arab Terrorists Violate the Sanctity of Shabbat and Murder Seven in Jerusalem
How Do You Prosecute Trump and Not Biden (and Clinton)?
How Much of a Christian Nationalist Are You? Take This Simple Test.
Memphis Police Make Dire Change In Police Unit Following Tyre Nichols Death
It Wasn't Long Before White Supremacy Was Compared To Police Brutality After Memphis...
Mayorkas Smuggled 100,000 Migrants Into the U.S. Through A Hidden Parole Pathway
Two Deputies Are Put On Leave Hours After the Brutal Tyre Nichols Video...
Paul Pelosi Attacker Delivers A Bone Chilling Message to A Local News Outlet
DeSantis Tightens the Reigns On Crime As Woke Prosecutors Continue to Push Soft-On-Crime...

Pelosi Re-elected Speaker of the House...Which Dems Voted Against Her?

It's déjà vu as Nancy Pelosi was re-elected Speaker of the House Thursday. The magic number for Pelosi was 218, and she managed to garner 220 votes. She first held the speakership reins from 2007 until 2011. During that time she oversaw some momentous pieces of legislation, most notably President Obama's Affordable Care Act. Remember her infamous mantra that Congress had to "pass it to find out what's in it?"

House Democratic Caucus Chair Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY) rose to formally nominate Pelosi for speaker, noting that she's "just getting started."

Her win today was not unanimous, but it was more convincing than political analysts thought it would be when the race was first shaping up this fall. In November a group of 16 Democrats released a "Never Pelosi" letter pledging to vote against her come election time. Other progressives like Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez openly criticized Pelosi's lackluster leadership on certain liberal issues. Yet, the opposition gradually burned out. Over the past several weeks some of those signatories changed their mind, either because Pelosi promised them that their issues would make her priority list, or they realized that the party needs to seem united. 

Ocasio-Cortez stood up and voted for the woman she had protested just weeks earlier.

Even Rep. Tim Ryan (D-OH), who challenged Pelosi for the speakership in 2016 and spoke out strongly against her liberal elitism, fell in line this time and endorsed the California representative. Other Democrats who didn't sign the pledge yet said they wanted new leadership while on the campaign trail, like Rep. Andy Kim (NJ), also backtracked when it came time to actually vote.

A few select Democrats did stay true to their word and voted for someone else. See below.

Pelosi may appease some of the above rebels by agreeing to limit her speakership to four years.

Join the conversation as a VIP Member


Trending on Townhall Video