Why Are We Helping the Bad Guys?
Media Fluffers Come Out for Newsom
Why Our Founding Fathers Were Right
Che Guevara’s Daughter Addresses...
Half of Gen Z Forgot What the American Dream Is All About
Javier Milei Faces a Herculean Task in Argentina
The Economic Case for Trump’s Second Term
The Palestinians Will Always Be Losers
Blinken's Diplomatic Doublespeak in the Wake of Kissinger's Legacy
KJP Under Fire for Violating A Federal Law and Getting Away With It
Liberal Magazine Promotes Satanic 'Ritual Abortion' Provided by The Satanic Temple
Florida Democrats Cancel Primary Election, Automatically Handing Biden the State's Votes
Watch When An Entire Diner Says They're Voting for Trump
Joe Biden Snubs His Seventh Granddaughter Again This Christmas
House Committee Chairmen Reaffirm: No Special Treatment for Hunter Biden

Lisa Murkowski and Mary Peltola Win Reelection in Alaska

Alex Edelman/Pool via AP

It took from Election Day on November 8 until the eve of Thanksgiving for Alaska's election officials to finishing collecting and tabulating votes through the state's still-new ranked choice voting system as residents await to find out who will be sent to Washington, D.C. to represent them in the U.S. House of Representatives and Senate. 


At 4pm Alaska time, 8pm on the East Coast, the Alaska Department of Elections carried out its ranked choice tabulation, revealing results at last for the two national offices in which no candidate met the threshold to win outright and avoid the ranked choice process.

In the U.S. House race, a three-way contest that is a repeat of the special election for Alaska's lone House seat played out between incumbent Democrat Rep. Mary Pelotola, Trump-endorsed former Governor Sarah Palin, and Republican Party of Alaska-endorsed Nick Begich. 

Begich was again eliminated through ranked choice voting, with his votes being redistributed to the remaining two candidates. As happened in the special general election, a significant number of voters' ballots were "exhasted" for the final round which handed Democrat incumbent Peltola reelection to her first full term with 136,893 votes to Palin's 112,255 votes.

In the contentious race for U.S. Senate, just incumbent Republican Lisa Murkowski and Trump-endorsed challenger Kelly Tshibaka remained. After all the votes were tallied, the incumbent Republican won with 135,972 votes to Tshibaka's 117,299 votes. As in the House race, a not-insignificant number of voters' ballots were "exhausted" by the deciding round and did not fully count in the final tally. 


Murkowski said on Wednesday evening that she was "honored" that Alaska's voters had reelected her and said she looked forward to "continuing the important work ahead of us."

Join the conversation as a VIP Member


Trending on Townhall Videos