Wyoming Senate Spot Sweepstakes

Posted: Jun 15, 2007 2:11 PM

With Lynne Cheney out, who will the GOP pick to be the next Senator from Wyoming? 

Here's what the short list looks like:

• three sitting legislators (John Barrasso of Casper, Cale Case of Lander and Colin Simpson of Cody),

• two former Wyoming House speakers (Randall Luthi of Freedom and Doug Chamberlain of LaGrange),

• the party's 2006 nominee for governor (Ray Hunkins),

• a former state treasurer (Cynthia Lummis),

• a former U.S. Attorney for Wyoming (Matt Mead),

• a former state Agriculture Department director (Ron Micheli)

• and a former party chairman (Tom Sansonetti).