Hurricane Irma: Complete List of Evacuations and Warnings from Florida, Georgia, North and South Carolina

Posted: Sep 07, 2017 6:00 PM
Hurricane Irma: Complete List of Evacuations and Warnings from Florida, Georgia, North and South Carolina

As Texans begin rebuilding Houston after Hurricane Harvey, a few states over, those in Florida are preparing for an even bigger storm, Hurricane Irma.

Irma, a Category 5 hurricane, is the strongest Atlantic hurricane ever recorded - and it’s showing no signs of weakening.

So far, Irma has hit the island of Barbuda, St. Martin, Anguilla, St. Barthélemy, parts of the U.S. Virgin Island, parts of the British Virgin Islands, and now Puerto Rico.

It’s still too early to tell if Irma will make it’s way to the mainland - but Floridians aren’t taking any chances.

A state of emergency has been declared for all counties, and a number are already being evacuated.

Here’s a list of Florida counties that have ordered mandatory evacuations, thus far. 

Already in effect:

Monroe County (which includes the Florida Keys)

Miami-Dade County (Both Zones A and B)

Broward County (which includes Fort Lauderdale) for all residents living east of Federal Highway - also known as U.S. Route 1 - as well as anyone living in low lying areas and/or mobile homes

Starting at 6 a.m. Friday:

Pinellas County (which includes Clearwater and St. Petersburg) for residents living in low-lying areas and/or mobile homes

Starting at 8 a.m. Friday:

Hillsborough County (which includes Tampa) for special needs residents in Zone A

Florida Gov. Rick Scott issued a stern warning to residents and visitors earlier this week: "If you're told to evacuate, get out quickly.”

For those unable to evacuate, here is a list of shelters in Miamie-Dade and Broward Counties.

Florida’s neighbor, Georgia is also taking the necessary precautions.

Thirty counties along Georgia’s coast are now under a state of emergency including Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Coffee, Echols, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glynn, Jenkins, Jeff Davis, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Treutlen, Wayne and Ware Counties.

Georgia Gov. Nathan Deal issued a mandatory evacuation order for all areas east of I-95, all of Chatham County (which includes Savannah) and some areas west of I-95, as well.

"I encourage all Georgians in our coastal areas that could be impacted by this storm to evacuate the area as soon as possible," Gov. Deal said. 

North Carolina Gov. Roy Cooper and South Carolina Gov. Henry McMaster have also declared a state of emergency.

We’ll keep you posted if any new evacuations are ordered.

Stay safe, everyone.