scotus on Townhall

Cal Thomas - Thu Apr 30

Vivian Hughbanks - Tue Apr 28

As justices inside the Supreme Court prepared to hear oral arguments to determine whether or not same-sex marriage bans in certain states are constitutional on Tuesday morning, crowds of demonstrators gathered to support both sides of the argument. ... more

Jerry Newcombe - Thu Feb 26

Kara Jones - Sun Jul 13

The conservative movement experienced considerable achievements throughout the course of the Supreme Court’s October 2013 – June 2014 term. An overview of five key decisions that championed religious freedom, First Amendment rights, and more: ... more

Bill Murchison - Tue Jul 8

Mona Charen - Tue Jul 1

Sarah Jean Seman - Mon Jun 30

White House flashback: the HHS mandate is "lawful and essential to women's health." ... more

Paul Greenberg - Mon Jun 30

Christine Rousselle - Tue Nov 26

A decision is expected in June. ... more

Paul Greenberg - Fri Nov 15

Jerry Newcombe - Thu Nov 7

Nicole Bailey - Mon Oct 7

The SCOTUS is opening despite the shutdown, and they have some major cases already set with the potential for more overturns of precedent down the line. Issues coming up include: campaign finance, religious freedom, affirmative action, abortion protests, and more. ... more

Jacob Sullum - Wed Mar 6

When President Obama endorsed gay marriage last year, he said the issue should be left to the states. Last week, he said it shouldn't. ... more

Jacob Sullum - Wed Aug 15

On June 21, 1989, the U.S. Supreme Court overturned a Texas law that made flag burning a state crime, ruling that it violated the First Amendment right to freedom of speech. A month later, Rep. Jack Brooks, D-Texas introduced a bill that made flag burning a federal crime. Approved by Congress that fall, the new law was overturned by the Supreme Court the following year. ... more

Paul Greenberg - Wed Jul 11

Granted, it was not the most popular decision ever rendered by a chief justice of the United States. Its immediate result was particularly unpopular with those who over the years had shared his own political loyalties and ideological tendencies. ... more

Christopher Merola - Wed Jul 11

In this year’s election, the economy has certainly taken center stage. This is for good reason, of course. The real unemployment numbers for our nation show a figure between 15-20% when all factors are considered, including the underemployed and those who have stopped looking for work. ... more

Steven Aden - Tue Jul 10

When the U.S. Supreme Court upheld ObamaCare on June 28, supporters immediately pronounced “game over” on the fight against President Obama’s abortion pill mandate as well. Their thinking was that since the overall health care act had been upheld, the mandates and rules proceeding from it had been upheld, too. ... more

Frank Turek - Tue Jul 10

What if we all simply decided to interpret the 5-4 Supreme Court decision to uphold Obamacare as a 9-0 vote to <i>overturn</i> Obamacare? ... more