The Democrats' Witch-Hunt Against Conservatives Just Ramped Up
The First Black Swan
John Fetterman Has Another Encounter With Pro-Palestinian Protesters
Some of the Reactions to O.J. Simpson's Death Were Wild
Hamas Just Made a Major Announcement...And the Media Is Nowhere to be Found
OJ's Death Permits Racism
What it Takes to be a Good Black Politician or Pundit
The Importance of US-Iraq Relations
Crippling Cyberattack Brings U.S. HealthCare System to a Halt
Trans Activists On The Wrong Side of History
The America First Approach Offers HOPE, Support for Women and Children
The Empire Strikes Again – in Ethiopia
The Threat of Modern School Counselors in Public School
Trump Snaps At Hostile Reporter Who Questioned His Abortion Stance
Dem Denver Mayor: 'We Want to Be a Welcoming City' for Illegal Immigrants

Sen. Joni Ernst Joins GOP Leadership

Sen. Joni Ernst (R-IA) won the only contested leadership race amongst GOP Senate leadership Wednesday for Republican Senate conference vice chair over her colleague Sen. Deb Fischer (R-NE).


Ernst is the first woman in eight years to have a spot amongst the Senate GOP leadership. She is the first woman from Iowa elected to Congress and the first female combat veteran to serve in the Senate. She is an Iraq war veteran who served 23 years in the military.

“It is a great honor for me to join this tremendous leadership team,” she told reporters Wednesday of assuming the fifth-ranking spot in the Senate.

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) and Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) were re-elected to their leadership positions by voice vote.


McConnell has reportedly wanted to add a woman to the Senate leadership team for a while after facing criticism last year over the lack of a woman on the team since Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK) left her leadership post in 2010.

Other changes in the GOP Senate leadership included Sen. John Thune (R-SD) getting a promotion from conference chairman to whip and Sen. John Barrasso (R-WY) moving up into Thune’s role. Sen. Roy Blunt (R-MO) went from conference vice chairman to replace Barrasso as policy chairman.

Join the conversation as a VIP Member


Trending on Townhall Videos