Update on Letter to Sustain Spending Vetoes

Posted: May 23, 2007 4:48 PM

Our letter pledging to uphold vetoes of appropriations bills that would contribute to an overall discretionary spending total above the President’s request is gaining more signatures.

Since Friday, we have gained 50 additional signers, putting the current total at 128.
The Administration has already threatened to veto spending bills that would contribute toward a level higher than his request.

We only need 18 more signatures to get to 146, which is enough to sustain any veto if there are 435 Members present and voting.

If House Republicans stick together, we can save $23 billion for American taxpayers, which is the difference between the Democrat budget resolution (passed without the votes of any House Republicans) and the President’s discretionary spending request.

The 128 current signers are: Akin, Bachmann, Bachus, Baker, Barrett, Bartlett, Bilbray, Bilirakis, Bishop, Blackburn, Blunt, Boehner, Bono, Bonner, Boozman, Boustany, Brady, Brown, Buchanan, Burton, Buyer, Calvert, Camp, Campbell, Cannon, Cantor, Chabot, Cole, Conaway, Crenshaw, Cubin, Jo Ann Davis (VA), Davis (TN), Davis (KY), Deal, Lincoln Diaz-Balart (FL), Mario Diaz-Balart (FL), Doolittle, Drake, Dreier, Duncan, Fallin, Feeney, Flake, Forbes, Foxx, Franks, Gallegly, Garrett, Gillmor, Gingrey, Gohmert, Goode, Hall, Hastert, Hensarling, Herger, Hoekstra, Hunter, Inglis, Issa, Jindal, Johnson, Jordan, King (NY), King (IA), Kingston, Kline, Kuhl, Lamborn, Lewis (KY), Linder, Lucas (OK), Lungren, Mack, Manzullo, Marchant, McCarthy, McCaul, McCotter, McHenry, McKeon, Mica, Miller (CA), Miller (FL), Musgrave, Myrick, Neugebauer, Nunes, Paul, Pearce, Pence, Pickering, Pitts, Poe, Porter, Price, Putnam, Radanovich, Reynolds, Rohrabacher, Rogers (AL), Rogers (MI), Roskam, Royce, Ryan, Sali, Schmidt, Sensenbrenner, Sessions, Shadegg, Shuster, Smith (TX), Souder, Stearns, Sullivan, Tancredo, Terry, Tiberi, Upton, Walberg, Walden, Wamp, Weldon, Westmoreland, and Wilson (SC).