The Votes Are In: House Votes to Overturn Trump's National Security Declaration

Posted: Feb 26, 2019 6:52 PM
The Votes Are In: House Votes to Overturn Trump's National Security Declaration

Source: AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite


Additional Congressmen and women released statements about their votes.


House Minority Leader Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) released the following statement about the decision:

House Democrats chose today to make a purely political statement against President Trump instead of taking seriously the national emergency at our country’s southern border. The President’s declaration – along with legislative action to appropriate funds for border security – will answer the call from experts and border security personnel on the ground to provide the resources needed to stop illegal entry into our country and the dangers associated with it.
Through their resistance, Democrats are closing their eyes and turning their backs to human trafficking victims, victims of drug addiction, and Angel Families who have lost loved ones.
Not only does the President have the legal authority to declare this national emergency under two federal statutes, the move is far from unprecedented: there are currently 31 national emergencies still in effect since the National Emergencies Act was enacted by Congress in 1976.
House Republicans will continue to listen to the experts and the American people, who agree we need stronger border security. I invite House Democrats to join us in protecting the citizens of the United States.

Republican Whip Steve Scalise (R-LA) released the following statement:

While Speaker Pelosi and her liberal lieutenants refuse to support the money necessary to secure our border, President Trump took an oath to keep our country safe, and is using all legal tools available to protect Americans from the crime, drugs, and human trafficking that comes across our southern border every day. Speaker Pelosi’s resolution blocking the national emergency declaration is another example of her refusal to secure our border, and would leave Americans less safe. I was proud to stand with victims of illegal immigrant crime today and vote against this useless and irresponsible resolution.


The House of Representatives passed a resolution on Tuesday evening to overturn President Donald Trump's national emergency declaration along the southern border. The declaration was a way for Trump to build his highly-anticipated border wall without Congressional approval.

The vote predominately came down party lines. These are the 13 Republicans voted in favor of the resolution:

• Rep. Justin Amash (R-MI)
• Rep. Brian Fitzpatrick (R-PA)
• Rep. Mike Gallagher (R-WI)
• Rep. Jamie Herrera Butler (R-WA)
• Rep. Will Hurd (R-TX)
• Rep. Dusty Johnson (R-SD)
• Rep. Thomas Massie (R-KY)
• Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA)
• Rep. Francis Rooney (R-FL)
• Rep. Jim Sensenbrenner (R-WI)
• Rep. Elise Stefanik (R-NY)
• Rep. Fred Upton (R-MI)
• Rep. Greg Walden (R-OR)

Amash took to Twitter to explain his vote while also slamming fellow Republicans:

The vote passed with a vote of 245-182.

This post has been updated with additional details. An earlier version of this story incorrectly stated Rep. Justin Amash was the only Republican to support the resolution disapproving of the national emergency declaration.

Recommended Townhall Video