Dear Texans: Here's 46 Republicans Who Voted Against Freedom Of The Press

Doug Giles
|
Posted: May 31, 2015 12:01 AM
Dear Texans: Here's 46 Republicans Who Voted Against Freedom Of The Press

Last Wednesday, the Texas Legislature pushed through, and I mean pushed, controversial legislation which repeals portions of the First Amendment, effectively ending citizen journalism in the Capitol.

How quaint, eh?

Yep, when Texas legislators found out about the undercover video footage about to be released by Hannah Giles (of ACORN fame) and Joseph Basel with the American Phoenix Foundation, they flipped out and quickly jammed through legislation, SB19, which would criminalize this First Amendment practice from 1985 forward. Why they picked 1985 only lawless liberals and repugnant Republicans can know. I would have thought for an apropos Orwellian effect they’d pick 1984, but then again … who am I? Anyway …

The new law is an attempt for legislators to shield themselves from scrutiny even in public areas of the Capitol building.

Silly Texans. Who are we to want to monitor what these dipsticks we naively elected and pay for are actually doing on our taxpayer dime?

Indeed, in a stunning show of bipartisanship, the Texas House rushed through SB19 which includes provisions which radically curtail the rights of the press to know and report what these cats are actually doing on the clock. That’s our clock. Pardon my redundancy.

Civil penalties for video reporting could now include $10,000 fines per occurrence.

With over 800 hours of footage looming over their nefarious noggins, in a full on Corrupt-O-Crat sweat, the following Texas Republicans voted to pass SB19.

The reason I singled out Republicans is because we expect such fascism from Liberals. But Republicans? Good Lawd! Tell yo’ granny.

So, without further ado, here are the Texas State House Republicans that voted to muzzle the First Amendment in Texas. Please drop ‘em a line or tweet at them and let 'em know what you think of the Constitution.

Trent Ashby (HD 57) @TrentAshbyTX,

tashby@communitytitle-tx.com

Jimmy Don Aycock (HD 54) @Aycockjda,

jim@jimarenterprises.com

Cindy Burkett (HD 113) @CindyBurkett_TX,

cindy.burkett@hotmail.com

DeWayne Burns (HD 58) @BurnsForTexas

Angie Chen Button (HD 112) @AngieChenButton

Giovanni Capriglione (HD 98) @VoteGiovanni,

gio.cap@gmail.com

Travis Clardy (HD 11) @TravisForTexas

Byron Cook (HD 8)

byron@byroncook.com

Tony Dale (HD 136) @TonyDaleTX

Drew Darby (HD 72) @drewdarby4Tx,

drew@suretytitleco.com

Sarah Davis (HD 134) @SarahforHD134,

sdavisatty@aol.com

Gary Elkins (HD 135) gary@garyelkins.com

Wayne Faircloth (HD 23) @WayneFaircloth

Dr. Marsha Farney (HD 20) @DrMarshaFarney,

marsha@marshafarney.com

John Frullo (HD 84) @FrulloForTexas,

john@johnfrullo.com

Rick Galindo (HD 117) @GalindoForRep

Charlie Geren (HD 99) @charliegeren

Larry Gonzales (HD 52) @larrygonzales52,

larry@larrygonzales.com

Patricia Harless (HD 126) @PatriciaHarless,

phar77379@aol.com

Dan Huberty (HD 127) @DanHuberty,

dan@danhuberty.com

Todd Hunter (HD 32) @toddahunter, @Dist32StateRep,

todd@hunterhandel.com

Kyle Kacal (HD 12) @KyleKacal,

kyle@tonkaway.com

Jim Keffer (HD 60) @RepJimKeffer,

lbkeffer@sbcglobal.net

Ken King (HD 88) @KingForTexas,

ken@kingwell.com

Linda Koop (HD 102) @LindaKoopHD102

John Kuempel (HD 44)

JLKcampaign@hotmail.com

Lyle Larson (HD 122) @RepLyleLarson,

lyle@lylelarson.org

Jose Manuel Lozano (HD 43) @RepJMLozano,

texasreplozano@gmail.com

Morgan Meyer (HD 108) @MorganMeyerTX,

morgan@morganmeyerfortexas.com

Doug Miller (HD 73) @DougMiller73,

doug@miller-miller.com

Rick Miller (HD 26) @Vote4Rick,

rick4tx26@gmail.com

Jim Murphy (HD 133) @JimMurphy133,

jim@votejimmurphy.com

John Otto (HD 18) @RepJohnOtto,

j-otto@comcast.net

Tan Parker (HD 63) @tparker63,

tanparker@rr.tx.com

Larry Philips (HD 62) shmdad@yahoo.com

Four Price (HD 87) @FourPriceTX

John Raney (HD 14) @RaneyForTexas,

txag@txag.com

Debbie Riddle (HD 150) @debbieriddle

Dr. J.D. Sheffield (HD 59) @dr_sheffield,

jsheffield@cmhos.org

Ron Simmons (HD 65) @RonSimmonsTexas,

rsimmons@raa.com
Wayne Smith (HD 128) waynesmith128@comcast.net

Ed Thompson (HD 29) @RepEdThompson,

ed@edthompson29.com

Gary VanDeaver (HD 1) @GaryVanDeaver

Jason Villalba (HD 114) @JasonVillalba,

jvillalba@sbcglobal.net

Paul Workman (HD 47) @PaulWorkman,

paulworkman@austin.rr.com

John Wray (HD 10) @wrayfortexas10

This link shows the language of the bill in question.

That said, there were some who weren’t terrified about freedom of the press (remember that?) and here is the proposal from Rep. Matt Schaefer to remove these items from the bill SB19. Here is the official request to amend the bill.

Now, for the record, the following is the Roll Call on this motion to remove portions of SB19. By removing Article 5, and Article 7.05, it would ensure there would be no suppression of First Amendment rights given explicitly to the press. Please note how many Republicans voted

when given the chance to remove Article 5 and article 7.05.

For the dull amongst us … “Nay” means they chose not to remove the articles, (5) and (7.05), that blatantly violate the First Amendment and heavily penalize the press for doing their job, i.e. keeping the representatives accountable to the people they serve. Please see Article 5 and 7.05. Two-party consent laws are made for those who have something to hide and have no place in the people of Texas’ House.

So there you have it, Texans: Republicans, many of whom you elected and trusted to uphold our Constitution and Bill Of Rights, whizzing on freedom of the press simply because some have been busted on video doing dirty deeds.

Please let them know how you feel about SB19 and encourage Governor Abbott not to sign it into law.


What’s the Matter with California?