Biden's Debate Prep Includes This Physical Test. I Don't Think It's Going Well.
CNN's Van Jones Explains Why the Obama Coalition Is Collapsing Right Now
Notice What's Embarrassing About The Associated Press' Fact-Check About Biden's LA Fundrai...
Do You Feel a Draft?
My Record Really Stood Out
America Needs to Supercharge Nuclear Energy
LA Opens Taxpayer-Funded Luxury Homeless Shelter
The IG Report on the FDA’s Response to Infant Formula Recall Is Here
'Thou Shalt Not Post the Ten Commandments!'
The Future of Democracy?
The Case for J.D. Vance
Trump Derangement Syndrome Is Raging Among the Left
Republican Leaders Shouldn’t Force Members to Vote on Politically Toxic Bills
RFK Jr. Deserves Secret Service Protection

Update on 3 GOP Senators Who Didn't Join Amicus Brief Against ObamaCare

Only three GOP senators didn't sign the amicus brief that Sen. Mitch McConnell and the other 43 GOP senators signed in support of Florida's challenge to ObamaCare in the courts -- Sen. Jeff Sessions, Sen. Scott Brown, and Sen. Lindsay Graham.

In a statement, Graham spokesman Kevin Bishop explained that while the senator "strongly opposes Obama health care" and has voted for its repeal, "His energy is focused on the legislative repeal of Obamacare."

Sessions, meanwhile, who voted for the Obamacare repeal, customarily does not sign onto amicus briefs.

Sen. Brown's office did not respond to a request for comment.

The previous story is below:

Forty-four GOP senators have signed onto a brief filed in support of several states' challenge to ObamaCare, which is being spearheaded by Florida (this is different from Virginia's lawsuit against ObamaCare that had hearings in the 4th Circuit yesterday).

Senate Minority Leader Mitch McConnell's letter to colleagues highlights two key points of the case: first, that the federal government forces Americans to buy something via the individual mandate, an alarming precedent to establish, and, second, that "there will no longer be any meaningful limit on Congress’s power to regulate its citizens under the Commerce Clause." 

"Congress’s specific power under that clause will be transformed into a general police power," the letter says, explaining this basically eliminates the distinction between federal and state regulatory authority.

Here are the senators who signed the brief: Sen. Lamar Alexander (R-TN), Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R-NH), Sen. John Barrasso (R-WY), Sen. Roy Blunt (R-MO), Sen. John Boozman (R-AR), Sen. Richard Burr (R-NC), Sen. Saxby Chambliss (R-GA), Sen. Daniel Coats (R-IN), Sen. Tom Coburn (R-OK), Sen. Thad Cochran (R-MS), Sen. Susan Collins (R-ME), Sen. Bob Corker (R-TN), Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX), Sen.  Mike Crapo (R-ID), Sen. Jim DeMint (R-SC), Sen. Michael Enzi (R-WY), Sen. Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Sen. Orrin Hatch (R-UT), Sen. Dean Heller (R-NV), Sen. John Hoeven (R-ND), Sen. Kay Bailey Hutchison (R-TX), Sen. James Inhofe (R-OK), Sen. Johnny Isakson (R-GA), Sen. Mike Johanns (R-NE), Sen. Ron Johnson (R-WI), Sen. Mark Kirk (R-IL), Sen. Jon Kyl (R-AZ), Sen. Mike Lee (R-UT), Sen. Richard Lugar (R-IN), Sen. John McCain (R-AZ), Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Sen. Jerry Moran (R-KS), Sen. Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Sen. Rand Paul (R-KY), Sen. Rob Portman (R-OH), Sen. James Risch (R-ID), Sen. Pat Roberts (R-KS), Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL), Sen. Richard Shelby (R-AL), Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-ME), Sen. John Thune (R-SD), Sen. Pat Toomey (R-PA), Sen. David Vitter (R-LA), Sen. Roger Wicker (R-MS).

Join the conversation as a VIP Member


Trending on Townhall Videos