Awkward: Justin Trudeau Forgot To Mention Alberta In His Canada Day Speech

Posted: Jul 03, 2017 11:40 AM

Given that Canada only has 10 provinces and three territories, one would think it wouldn't be too challenging to list them all in a Canada Day speech--one would think.

As Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau learned over the weekend, this is apparently easier said than done. Trudeau, speaking on Canada's 150th birthday on Saturday on Canada Day, attempted to list off each province and territory in an effort to to point out that while Canada is diverse, they're united in how they're all Canadians.

"We may live in British Columbia, Yukon, the Northwest Territories, Saskatchewan, Manitoba, Nunavut, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia or Newfoundland and Labrador. But we embrace that diversity while knowing in our hearts that we are all Canadians."

...except he forgot Alberta, home to about four million Canadians, who, understandably, were pretty ticked.

Given that Trudeau (and his father, former PM Pierre Trudeau) has a history of some not-so-nice remarks about Alberta, many wondered if the omission was intentional. Alberta is the most conservative-leaning of the country's provinces. 

Trudeau eventually apologized to the province.