Trump Just Added Another Country to the Travel Bans

Posted: May 24, 2020 6:55 PM
Trump Just Added Another Country to the Travel Bans

Source: AP Photo/Charles Krupa

On Sunday, the White House announced a travel ban on non-citizens entering the United States who have been in Brazil over the last two weeks. U.S. residents, family members of U.S. citizens and certain other individuals are exempt from the ban. Brazil has over 360,000 confirmed cases of the Wuhan coronavirus. 

"The potential for undetected transmission of the virus by infected individuals seeking to enter the United States from the Federative Republic of Brazil threatens the security of our transportation system and infrastructure and the national security," reads a proclamation released by the White House on Sunday. 

"[A]nd I have determined that it is in the interests of the United States to take action to restrict and suspend the entry into the United States, as immigrants or nonimmigrants, of all aliens who were physically present within the Federative Republic of Brazil during the 14-day period preceding their entry or attempted entry into the United States."

On Wednesday, the president said he was considering restrictions on Brazil due to a surge in coronavirus cases in the country. Trump has already banned travels from China, Europe, the United Kingdom, Iran and Ireland.

White House Press Secretary Kayleigh McEnany said in a statement, "Today, the president has taken decisive action to protect our country by suspending the entry of aliens who have been in Brazil during the 14-day period before seeking admittance to the United States. Today’s action will help ensure foreign nationals who have been in Brazil do not become a source of additional infections in our country."

The Real Anti-Vaxxers
Ann Coulter

The new restrictions take effect at 11:59 p.m. est. on May 28. The proclamation does not apply to inbound flights to the U.S. that depart prior to 11:59 p.m. est on May 28.