Political Cartoons by Lisa Benson

Lisa Benson - Monday, May 04, 2009

  • Lisa Benson
    Fri, May 29 2009
  • Lisa Benson
    Wed, May 27 2009
  • Lisa Benson
    Tue, May 26 2009
  • Lisa Benson
    Tue, May 26 2009
  • Lisa Benson
    Thu, May 21 2009
  • Lisa Benson
    Wed, May 20 2009
  • Lisa Benson
    Tue, May 19 2009
  • Lisa Benson
    Thu, May 14 2009
  • Lisa Benson
    Tue, May 12 2009
  • Lisa Benson
    Mon, May 11 2009
  • Lisa Benson
    Thu, May 07 2009
  • Lisa Benson
    Wed, May 06 2009
  • Lisa Benson
    Mon, May 04 2009
  • Lisa Benson
    Mon, May 04 2009

About the Author:

Lisa Benson came to editorial cartooning a little later than most, in the midst of raising her four children. In the early 1990s, Benson's husband's business was going through an industrywide recession, so she began looking at employment options to supplement the family income. "Cartooning seemed like a glamorous choice. It was either that or work in fast food. I shook some hands and some people were actually impressed with what I could do, or felt sorry for me," Benson quipped. In 1990, she started drawing cartoons for a local monthly publication, "The Senior Advocate," and doing paste-up and cutting rubylith for the color separations.