Secret Service Denies Limiting Trump's Security Detail
Secret Service Has No Plans to Beef Up Security at RNC Following Trump...
The Media's Latest Spin Covering Trump's Assassination Attempt Shows They Don't Know What...
How Would You Rate Bill Maher’s Response to Trump's Assassination Attempt?
President Biden Says He's Asked for an 'Independent Review' of Security at Trump...
Democrat, GOP Reps Push for Increased USSS Protection for All Presidential Candidates
George Stephanopoulos Somehow Blames Trump for His Own Would-Be Assassination
Here's How the Race Between Trump and Biden Looks in the Battleground States
Why 'Reichstag Fire' Is Trending After Trump Attack
There's a New Update on Would-Be Trump Assassin
Report Reveals Enough Illegal Aliens Are Registered to Vote to Swing the Election...
World Leaders React to Trump Assassination Attempt
Democrat Expresses Disappointment that Would-Be Assassin Failed to Kill Trump
'Corey Died a Hero': We Now Know the Identity of Man Killed at...
The Media Have Taken Their 'Trump Is a Threat to Democracy' Narrative Too...

Committee on Resolutions named for 2012 SBC

The opinions expressed by columnists are their own and do not necessarily represent the views of
NEW ORLEANS (BP) -- SBC President Bryant Wright has named the members of the Committee on Resolutions who will serve during the June 19-20 Southern Baptist Convention annual meeting in New Orleans.

Wright, pastor of the Atlanta-area Johnson Ferry Baptist Church in Marietta, appointed the committee in keeping with the provision in SBC Bylaw 20 that its members be named 75 days prior to the start of the annual meeting.

Wright named Jimmy Scroggins of Florida as committee chairman. Scroggins is senior pastor of First Baptist Church in West Palm Beach.

The other committee members, in alphabetical order, are:

-- Stephen Farish, senior pastor, Crossroads Church, Grayslake, Ill.

-- Cheri Jiminez, member, Taylors First Baptist Church, Greer, S.C.

-- Manpoong Dennis Kim, pastor, Global Mission Church, Silver Spring, Md.

-- Gary Lowe, member, Alta Canyon Baptist Church, Sandy, Utah.

-- Tim Ohls, senior pastor, Believers Southern Baptist Church, Wichita, Kan.

-- Kevin Smith, pastor, Watson Memorial Baptist Church, Louisville, Ky., and assistant professor of Christian preaching, Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.

-- Kevin Ueckert, senior pastor, South Side Baptist Church, Abilene, Texas.

-- Stephen Douglas Wilson, dean emeritus and chair of the social studies/history department, Mid-Continent University, Mayfield, Ky., and member, First Baptist Church, Lone Oak, Ky.


-- Joe Wright, director of missions, Dyer Baptist Association, Dyersburg, Tenn.

The committee's composition, according to Bylaw 20, must include at least two members who served the previous year, with Scroggins and Farish meeting this requirement. Bylaw 20 also stipulates that the committee include at least three SBC Executive Committee members. This year they are Ohls, Wilson and Wright.

The procedure for submitting resolutions is as follows according to Bylaw 20:

-- Proposed resolutions may be submitted as early as April 15 but no later than 15 days prior to the SBC annual meeting, giving the Resolutions Committee a two-week period in which to consider submissions. Resolutions may no longer be submitted during the annual meeting.

-- Proposed resolutions must be accompanied by a letter from a church qualified to send a messenger to the SBC annual meeting certifying that the individual submitting the resolution is a member in good standing.

-- Proposed resolutions preferably should be submitted by e-mail or mailed to the Committee on Resolutions in care of the SBC Executive Committee, 901 Commerce St., Nashville, TN 37203. The drafts must be typewritten, titled, dated and include complete contact information for the person and his or her church.


-- No person will be allowed to submit more than three resolutions per year.

-- If a properly submitted resolution is not forwarded by the Committee on Resolutions to the SBC annual meeting, a two-thirds vote of messengers would be required to bring the proposed resolution to the convention floor.

Compiled by Baptist Press staff. All resolutions adopted by the SBC can be searched and read on the Web at

Copyright (c) 2012 Southern Baptist Convention, Baptist Press


Join the conversation as a VIP Member


Trending on Townhall Videos