The 2014 Nobel Prizes at a glance

AP News
|
Posted: Oct 08, 2014 9:28 AM

STOCKHOLM (AP) — The 2014 Nobel Prizes are being announced this week and next by committees in Stockholm and Oslo. Here is a list of which awards have already been announced, and which are coming up. The $1.1 million awards will be handed out on Dec. 10, the anniversary of prize founder Alfred Nobel's death in 1896.

MEDICINE

U.S.-British scientist John O'Keefe split the Nobel Prize in medicine with Norwegian couple May-Britt Moser and Edvard Moser on Monday for breakthroughs in brain cell research that could pave the way for a better understanding of diseases like Alzheimer's.

PHYSICS

Isamu Akasaki and Hiroshi Amano of Japan and Japanese-born U.S. scientist Shuji Nakamura won the Nobel Prize in physics on Tuesday for the invention of blue light-emitting diodes, which promises to revolutionize the way the world lights its homes and offices — and already helps create the glowing screens of mobile phones, computers and TVs.

CHEMISTRY

U.S. researchers Eric Betzig and William Moerner and Stefan Hell of Germany won the Nobel Prize in chemistry on Wednesday for finding ways to make microscopes more powerful than previously thought possible, allowing scientists to see how diseases develop inside the tiniest cells.

LITERATURE

The Nobel Prize in literature will be announced by the Swedish Academy on Thursday at 1100 GMT (7 a.m. EDT).

PEACE

The Nobel Peace Prize will be announced by the Norwegian Nobel Committee on Friday at 0900 GMT (5 a.m. EDT).

ECONOMICS

The Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences will be announced by the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on Oct. 13 at 1100 GMT (7 a.m. EDT).