Power Five schools with separate nicknames for women's teams

AP News
Posted: Jun 26, 2015 2:36 AM

Schools in the Power Five conferences (Atlantic Coast, Big 12, Big Ten, Pac-12 and Southeastern Conference) that use separate nicknames for men's and women's teams:

Baylor - Uses Lady Bears nickname only for women's basketball.

Georgia - Uses Lady Bulldogs nickname for women's basketball, swimming, track and cross country. Calls its women's gymnastics team the Gym Dogs.

LSU and Texas Tech - LSU uses Lady Tigers and Texas Tech uses Lady Raiders for women's sports that have a direct male counterpart (such as basketball, golf, tennis).

Oklahoma State - Calls all its women's teams the Cowgirls.

Penn State - Uses Lady Lions only for women's basketball.

Tennessee - Calls all its women's teams the Lady Volunteers. Starting July 1, only the women's basketball team will be called the Lady Volunteers.

Southern California - Uses Trojans and Women of Troy interchangeably for its women's teams.