Land buyback expands to 21 Indian communities

AP News
Posted: Nov 20, 2014 5:10 PM

The U.S. Department of Interior says it has added 21 American Indian communities to a $1.9 billion program to consolidate tribal lands owned by multiple individuals. They are:

— Agua Caliente Band of Cahuilla Indians of the Agua Caliente Indian Reservation, California.

— Arapaho Tribe of the Wind River Reservation, Wyoming and Shoshone Tribe of the Wind River Reservation, Wyoming.

— Bad River Band of the Lake Superior Tribe of Chippewa Indians of the Bad River Reservation, Wisconsin.

— Blackfeet Tribe of the Blackfeet Indian Reservation of Montana.

— Cabazon Band of Mission Indians, California.

— Confederated Tribes and Bands of the Yakama Nation, Washington.

— Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation, Washington.

— Crow Creek Sioux Tribe of the Crow Creek Reservation, South Dakota.

— Fond du Lac Band of the Minnesota Chippewa Tribe, Minnesota.

— Lower Brule Sioux Tribe of the Lower Brule Reservation, South Dakota.

— Nez Perce Tribe, Idaho.

— Ponca Tribe of Indians of Oklahoma.

— Quechan Tribe of the Fort Yuma Indian Reservation, California and Arizona.

— Round Valley Indian Tribes, Round Valley Reservation, California.

— Salt River Pima-Maricopa Indian Community of the Salt River Reservation, Arizona.

— Shoshone-Bannock Tribes of the Fort Hall Reservation, Idaho.

— The Osage Nation, Oklahoma.

— Three Affiliated Tribes of the Fort Berthold Reservation, North Dakota.

— Turtle Mountain Band of Chippewa Indians of North Dakota.

— Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska.

— Yankton Sioux Tribe of South Dakota.