AP's Frank Bajak among Cabot Prize winners

AP News
Posted: Aug 14, 2014 9:01 AM

NEW YORK (AP) — Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism has chosen this year's winners of the oldest award in international journalism, the Maria Moors Cabot Prize.

Columbia made the announcement Thursday. Those being honored include The Associated Press' Chief of Andean News Frank Bajak, Los Angeles Times Mexico bureau chief Tracy Wilkinson, El Heraldo de Mexico cartoonist Paco Calderon and Giannina Segnini, who was until recently the editor of the investigating team of La Nacion in Costa Rica. A special citation is being given to Tamoa Calzadilla and Laura Weffer for work they did at Ultimas Noticias of Venezuela.

Ted Cruz Chased Out of DC Restaurant
Cortney O'Brien

The Cabot Prize was founded in 1938. It honors reporting on Latin America and the Caribbean. The awards will be handed out Oct. 15 at Columbia University.