4 journalists win Livingston reporting awards

AP News
Posted: Jun 06, 2013 3:30 PM

ANN ARBOR, Mich. (AP) — Reporters for the Tampa Bay Times, Washingtonian Magazine and CNN Digital won Livingston Awards, given to journalists under the age of 35 for outstanding work, sponsors said Thursday.

The $10,000 awards are the largest all-media general reporting prizes in the nation. They are funded by the University of Michigan and the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation.

Alexandra Zayas of the Tampa Bay Times won the local reporting award for an investigation of child abuse in religious group homes. She reported on unlicensed facilities in Florida that are exempt from state oversight and laws against corporal punishment.

Rachel Manteuffel of the Washingtonian won in the national reporting category for a story about items that visitors leave at the Vietnam Veterans Memorial in Washington D.C.

"The objects left behind speak of matters so intimate, they may be indecipherable except to two people - one living, one dead," Manteuffel said.

The international reporting prize went to John D. Sutter and Edythe McNamee of CNN Digital for a multimedia story on slavery in West Africa. Mauritania abolished slavery in 2008, but the reporters found that the practice continues.

Victor Navasky received the $5,000 Richard M. Clurman Award for his dedication to mentoring young journalists. Navasky has served as editor, publisher and publisher emeritus of The Nation. He is the George Delacorte Professor of Magazine Journalism at Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism and chairman of Columbia Journalism Review.

Navasky in 1978 started The Nation Internship Program, which will be renamed the Victor S. Navasky Internship Program this fall.

The Livingston Awards judging panel included Christiane Amanpour of CNN and ABC News; Ken Auletta of The New Yorker; syndicated columnists Ellen Goodman and Clarence Page; Dean Baquet, managing editor of The New York Times; Charles Gibson, former anchor of ABC News; John Harris, editor-in-chief of Politico; and Anna Quindlen, author and contributing editor of Newsweek.