Winners announced in annual ArtPrize competition

AP News
Posted: Oct 06, 2011 8:17 PM
Winners announced in annual ArtPrize competition

An artist from Santa Ana, Calif., has won the $250,000 top prize in the annual ArtPrize competition in Grand Rapids.

Officials said in release Thursday that Mia Tavonatti won for her large-scale "Crucifixion" mosaic.

Thursday was the 19th and final day of the international competition, which now is in its third year. A total of $498,000 was awarded to 18 artists.

Chicago artist Tracy Van Duinen was awarded $100,000. She led a collaboration of artists who created the mural, "Metaphorest."

Lynda Cole of Ann Arbor, Mich., won $50,000 for her sculpture, "Rain."

About 382,000 votes were cast in the competition, which began Sept. 21 with 1,582 artists from 39 countries and 43 states. Their work was installed in 164 spots in a three-square-mile district in Grand Rapids.