AP's Kathleen Carroll to co-chair Pulitzer board

AP News
Posted: May 12, 2011 6:21 PM
AP's Kathleen Carroll to co-chair Pulitzer board

Associated Press Executive Editor Kathleen Carroll has been elected a co-chair of the Pulitzer Prize Board, which awards the most prestigious prizes in journalism, Columbia University announced Thursday.

Carroll, a senior vice president of the AP, will head the New York-based board with Jim Amoss, the editor of The Times-Picayune of New Orleans, and Ann Marie Lipinski, vice president for civic engagement at the University of Chicago and a former editor of the Chicago Tribune.

"It is a genuine delight and privilege to have served on the Pulitzer Board with Ann Marie and Jim and a delight to spend our ninth and final years on the board as co-chairs," Carroll said.

Carroll, Amoss and Lipinski have served on the board since 2003. They replace Stanford University historian David M. Kennedy and Bloomberg News Executive Editor Amanda Bennett as co-chairs.

Kennedy recently completed his term on the board. Bennett resigned Jan. 1 before the end of her term.

The 17 voting board members serve up to nine years each. A chair serves one year.