Twitter suffers sustained outage

Reuters News
|
Posted: Jun 21, 2012 2:17 PM
By Gerry ShihSAN FRANCISCO (Reuters) - Two service outages within the course of several hours rocked microblogging platform Twitter on Thursday, as users worldwide reported significant down-time and slow service across both Twitter's website and mobile applications.The San Francisco-based company declined to say whether a technical failure or a malicious attack was to blame.North American traffic levels for Twitter.com sharply plummeted on two occasions between 8:30 a.m. PDT (1530 GMT) and 11:00 a.m. PDT (1800 GMT), according to data provided by network analytics company Sandvine.The first outage lasted between 8:30 a.m. (1530 GMT) and 10:00 a.m. (1700 GMT), data showed.Twitter acknowledged the disruption in a mid-morning blog post that was continually revised as the service resumed, only to fail for a second time before 11:00 a.m."The issue is on-going and engineers are working to resolve it," the company said in its last blog update.Twitter, founded in 2006, was plagued in its early years by frequent outages as its servers struggled to handle the ever-rising volume of tweets generated by users worldwide.The company, which has been under pressure to demonstrate a viable business model, has also made an emphasis on improving its site reliability in recent years. But the service, which hosts 400 million tweets daily, still experiences periodic disruptions.(Reporting By Gerry Shih; Editing by Jeffrey Benkoe and Tim Dobbyn)