Yeats to be re-nominated recording sec'y

Baptist Press
Posted: May 24, 2011 6:22 PM
Yeats to be re-nominated recording sec'y
LOUISVILLE, Ky. (BP)--John L. Yeats will be re-nominated for another one-year term as recording secretary of the Southern Baptist Convention during the June 14-15 annual meeting in Phoenix, an SBC seminary leader has announced.

"John Yeats is a respected leader in our convention who has led with skill, integrity and Christlikeness," said Russell Moore, dean of the school of theology at Southern Baptist Theological Seminary in Louisville, Ky. "John is held in affection and admiration by Southern Baptists in every sector of our denominational community.

"As Southern Baptists move to the future of our convictional, cooperative mission together, it is critical to have the kind of wise, experienced, Gospel-centered leadership we find in John Yeats," Moore said.

Last year's annual meeting in Orlando, Fla., marked Yeats' 13th annual meeting as recording secretary.

The SBC recording secretary is responsible for the record of the proceedings of the Southern Baptist Convention, training volunteer pages and the final edit of the SBC Book of Reports and the SBC Annual. He also serves as an ex officio member of the SBC Executive Committee.

Yeats designed the process currently used for the flow of information from the convention floor to the platform and distribution to the Order of Business Committee, a process that has enhanced the accuracy of the official record.

Yeats currently serves as director of communications for the Louisiana Baptist Convention and edits the LBCLive missions magazine. He is a former editor of state Baptist papers in Oklahoma and Indiana and has served churches in six states during 40-plus years of pastoral ministry.

Yeats is a graduate of Dallas Baptist University and Southwestern Baptist Theological Seminary. In 2006, he received a doctor of ministry degree from Midwestern Baptist Theological Seminary in Kansas City, Mo.

Compiled by Mark Kelly, an assistant editor at Baptist Press.

Copyright (c) 2011 Southern Baptist Convention, Baptist Press