Favre headlines Hall of Fame Class of 2016

Reuters News
Posted: Feb 06, 2016 10:55 PM

By Larry Fine

SAN FRANCISCO (Reuters) - Strong-armed quarterback Brett Favre, an ironman at the position and a bold playmaker, headlined the eight-member Class of 2016 voted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday.

Favre, who retired five years ago, was elected in his first year of eligibility after a 20-year NFL career that included a Super Bowl title with the Green Bay Packers in the 1996 season.

When he left the game, the three-time NFL Most Valuable Player reigned as the league's all-time leader in completions, yards and passing touchdowns.

Joining Favre into the Canton, Ohio, shrine are coach Tony Dungy, wide receiver Marvin Harrison, pass-rusher Kevin Greene, tackle Orlando Pace, quarterback Ken Stabler, guard Dick Stanfel and former San Francisco 49ers owner Eddie DeBartolo, Jr.

The Class of 206 will be formally enshrined on Aug. 6.

(Reporting by Larry Fine; Editing by Frank Pingue)