U.S. restricts entrants from Ebola-hit nations to five airports

Reuters News
Posted: Oct 21, 2014 12:24 PM

(Reuters) - Travelers entering the United States whose trips originated in Ebola-stricken Liberia, Sierra Leone or Guinea must fly into one of five airports that have enhanced screening in place, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security said on Tuesday.

The restrictions, to take effect on Wednesday, will subject affected travelers to temperature tests among other protocols at New York's JFK, New Jersey's Newark, Washington Dulles, Atlanta and Chicago's O'Hare international airports. These airports account for 94 percent of the flights to the United States from the Ebola-hit nations.

The restrictions apply to all travelers, including U.S. citizens and those who would have arrived by land or sea.

(Reporting by Jeffrey Dastin and Michele Gershberg; Editing by Chizu Nomiyama)