Senate roll vote on advancing debt limit measure

AP News
Posted: Feb 12, 2014 6:04 PM

The 67-31 roll vote Wednesday by which the Senate defeated an effort by Sen. Ted Cruz, R-Texas, and others to block a bill to extend the government's borrowing authority. The measure required at least 60 votes to advance, a threshold Cruz insisted upon. The bill passed on a party-line vote of 55-43 with the Senate's two independents joining its 53 Democrats.

In this roll vote, a "yes" vote is a vote to advance the debt authority bill. Voting yes were 53 Democrats, 12 Republicans and 2 independents. Voting no were 0 Democrats and 31 Republicans.

Democrats Yes

Baldwin, Wis.; Begich, Alaska; Bennet, Colo.; Blumenthal, Conn.; Booker, N.J.; Boxer, Calif.; Brown, Ohio; Cantwell, Wash.; Cardin, Md.; Carper, Del.; Casey, Pa.; Coons, Del.; Donnelly, Ind.; Durbin, Ill.; Feinstein, Calif.; Franken, Minn.; Gillibrand, N.Y.; Hagan, N.C.; Harkin, Iowa; Heinrich, N.M.; Heitkamp, N.D.; Hirono, Hawaii; Johnson, S.D.; Kaine, Va.; Klobuchar, Minn.; Landrieu, La.; Leahy, Vt.; Levin, Mich.; Manchin, W.V.; Markey, Mass.; McCaskill, Mo.; Menendez, N.J.; Merkley, Ore.; Mikulski, Md.; Murphy, Conn.; Murray, Wash.; Nelson, Fla.; Pryor, Ark.; Reed, R.I.; Reid, Nev.; Rockefeller, W.V.; Schatz, Hawaii; Schumer, N.Y.; Shaheen, N.H.; Stabenow, Mich.; Tester, Mont.; Udall, Colo.; Udall, N.M.; Walsh, Mont.; Warner, Va.; Warren, Mass.; Whitehouse, R.I.; Wyden, Ore.

Republicans Yes

Barrasso, Wyo.; Collins, Maine; Corker, Tenn.; Cornyn, Texas; Flake, Ariz.; Hatch, Utah; Johanns, Neb.; Kirk, Ill.; McCain, Ariz.; McConnell, Ky.; Murkowski, Alaska; Thune, S.D.

Republicans No

Alexander, Tenn.; Ayotte, N.H.; Blunt, Mo.; Boozman, Ark.; Burr, N.C.; Coats, Ind.; Cochran, Miss.; Crapo, Idaho; Cruz, Texas; Enzi, Wyo.; Fischer, Neb.; Graham, S.C.; Grassley, Iowa; Heller, Nev.; Hoeven, N.D.; Inhofe, Okla.; Isakson, Ga.; Johnson, Wis.; Lee, Utah; Moran, Kan.; Paul, Ky.; Portman, Ohio; Risch, Idaho; Roberts, Kan.; Rubio, Fla.; Scott, S.C.; Sessions, Ala.; Shelby, Ala.; Toomey, Pa.; Vitter, La.; Wicker, Miss.

Republicans Not Voting

Chambliss, Ga.; Coburn, Okla.

Independents Yes

King, Maine; Sanders, Vt.