Senate approves 2 new members of election panel

AP News
Posted: Sep 23, 2013 4:12 PM

WASHINGTON (AP) — The Senate has confirmed President Barack Obama's two nominees to serve on the Federal Election Commission.

By voice vote, the Senate approved Democrat Ann Ravel and Republican Lee Goodman on Monday. Goodman and Ravel will fill two vacancies at the FEC left by former Democratic commissioner Cynthia Bauerly and Republican Donald McGahn. Goodman works at a Washington law firm and Ravel chairs the California Fair Political Practices Commission.

Ellen Weintraub, the current chairwoman of the commission, congratulated their unanimous Senate confirmation on Monday.

FEC commissioners are nominated by the president and confirmed by the Senate. Goodman and Ravel are the first new FEC commissioners since Obama took office and they complete the six-member panel.

Goodman's term as commissioner runs through April 30, 2015. Ravel's term lasts through April 30, 2017.