Justice Department dispatches poll watchers

AP News
Posted: Nov 02, 2012 5:53 PM
Justice Department dispatches poll watchers

WASHINGTON (AP) — More than 780 federal observers and Justice Department employees will be dispatched to 51 voting jurisdictions in 23 states for Tuesday's voting in an effort to ensure a clean election.

The public can phone or email complaints about possible voting rights violations through Tuesday.

The phone numbers are 1-800-253-3931 or 202-307-2767 and the number for those who are deaf or hard of hearing is 1-877-267-8971. The fax number is 202-307-3961.

Complaints can be emailed to voting.section(at)usdoj.gov or filed by filing out a complaint form on the department's website: www.justice.gov/crt/about/vot/ .

Complaints also may be directed to any of the 94 U.S. Attorneys' Offices around the country, local FBI offices or the Justice Department's Public Integrity Section at 202-514-1412.

On Election Day, federal observers supervised by the Office of Personnel Management will monitor polling places and sites where ballots are counted in 17 jurisdictions: Russell County, Ala.; Maricopa County, Ariz.; Alameda County, Calif.; Riverside County, Calif.; Randolph County, Ga.; East Carroll Parish, La.; Panola County, Miss.; Colfax County, Neb.; Sandoval County, N.M.; Orange County, N.Y.; Cuyahoga County, Ohio; Lorain County, Ohio; Williamsburg County, S.C.; Shannon County; S.D.; Dallas County, Texas; Fort Bend County, Texas; and Jefferson County, Texas.

In another 34 jurisdictions, personnel from the Justice Department will monitor the election: Mobile County, Ala.; Pima County, Ariz.; Arapahoe County, Colo.; Denver; Duval County, Fla.; Hendry County, Fla.; Hillsborough County, Fla.; Lee County, Fla.; Miami-Dade County, Fla.; Orange County, Fla.; Osceola County, Fla.; Chicago and Cook County, Ill.; LaPorte County, Ind.; Finney County, Kan.; Detroit and Hamtramck, Mich.; Alamance County, N.C.; Wake County, N.C.; Bernalillo County, N.M.; Cibola County, N.M.; Queens County, N.Y.; Franklin County, Ohio; Hamilton County, Ohio; Allegheny County, Pa.; Chester County, Pa.; Delaware County, Pa.; Lehigh County, Pa.; Philadelphia; Richland County, S.C.; Davidson County, Tenn.; Shelby County, Tenn.; Harris County, Texas; and Milwaukee.