Obama news conference time pushed back

Reuters News
|
Posted: Mar 21, 2011 3:23 PM

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The time of President Barack Obama's news conference on Friday has been changed to 12:30 p.m. EST (1730 GMT) from 11:15 a.m. EST (1615 GMT), the White House said.

Obama changed his schedule to add a briefing on Japan's earthquake and tsunami, and he called Japanese Prime Minister Naoto Kan on Friday morning at 10:15 a.m. EST (1515 GMT), administration officials said.

Obama is holding the news conference on issues including rising energy prices, as Americans fret over higher costs tied to unrest in North Africa and the Middle East.

(Reporting by Patricia Zengerle, editing by Will Dunham)