Senate roll vote on Dream Act immigration changes

AP News
Posted: Dec 18, 2010 10:40 PM

The 55-41 roll call Saturday by which the Senate voted to pass the Dream Act, which would give hundreds of thousands of young illegal immigrants a path to legal status if they enrolled in college or joined the armed forces. The vote fell five short of the 60 needed to enact the legislation before Republicans take over the House and narrow Democrats' majority in the Senate next month.

A "yes" vote is a vote to pass the bill.

Voting yes were 50 Democrats, 3 Republicans and 2 independents.

Voting no were 5 Democrats and 36 Republicans.

Democrats Yes

Akaka, Hawaii; Bayh, Ind.; Begich, Alaska; Bennet, Colo.; Bingaman, N.M.; Boxer, Calif.; Brown, Ohio; Cantwell, Wash.; Cardin, Md.; Carper, Del.; Casey, Pa.; Conrad, N.D.; Coons, Del.; Dodd, Conn.; Dorgan, N.D.; Durbin, Ill.; Feingold, Wis.; Feinstein, Calif.; Franken, Minn.; Gillibrand, N.Y.; Harkin, Iowa; Inouye, Hawaii; Johnson, S.D.; Kerry, Mass.; Klobuchar, Minn.; Kohl, Wis.; Landrieu, La.; Lautenberg, N.J.; Leahy, Vt.; Levin, Mich.; Lincoln, Ark.; McCaskill, Mo.; Menendez, N.J.; Merkley, Ore.; Mikulski, Md.; Murray, Wash.; Nelson, Fla.; Reed, R.I.; Reid, Nev.; Rockefeller, W.V.; Schumer, N.Y.; Shaheen, N.H.; Specter, Pa.; Stabenow, Mich.; Udall, Colo.; Udall, N.M.; Warner, Va.; Webb, Va.; Whitehouse, R.I.; Wyden, Ore.

Democrats No

Baucus, Mont.; Hagan, N.C.; Nelson, Neb.; Pryor, Ark.; Tester, Mont.

Democrats Not Voting

Manchin, W.V.

Republicans Yes

Bennett, Utah; Lugar, Ind.; Murkowski, Alaska.

Republicans No

Alexander, Tenn.; Barrasso, Wyo.; Bond, Mo.; Brown, Mass.; Brownback, Kan.; Burr, N.C.; Chambliss, Ga.; Coburn, Okla.; Cochran, Miss.; Collins, Maine; Corker, Tenn.; Cornyn, Texas; Crapo, Idaho; DeMint, S.C.; Ensign, Nev.; Enzi, Wyo.; Graham, S.C.; Grassley, Iowa; Hutchison, Texas; Inhofe, Okla.; Isakson, Ga.; Johanns, Neb.; Kirk, Ill.; Kyl, Ariz.; LeMieux, Fla.; McCain, Ariz.; McConnell, Ky.; Risch, Idaho; Roberts, Kan.; Sessions, Ala.; Shelby, Ala.; Snowe, Maine; Thune, S.D.; Vitter, La.; Voinovich, Ohio; Wicker, Miss.

Republicans Not Voting

Bunning, Ky.; Gregg, N.H.; Hatch, Utah.

Independents Yes

Lieberman, Conn.; Sanders, Vt.