Midler, Blanchett, Field score Tony nominations for best of Broadway

Reuters News
Posted: May 02, 2017 9:15 AM

By Chris Michaud

NEW YORK (Reuters) - Stars Cate Blanchett, Sally Field and Bette Midler received acting nominations for Broadway's Tony Awards on Tuesday, while "Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812" led the pack with 12 nods including the top prize, best musical.

Close behind was the hit revival of "Hello, Dolly!" which took 10 nominations, including one for lead actor David Hyde Pierce. He will compete against Josh Groban making his Broadway debut in "Natasha, Pierre."

"Groundhog Day The Musical," "Come From Away" and "Dear Evan Hansen," one of the season's best-reviewed and biggest hits taking nine nominations, were the other best musical nominees.

Best play nominees included "Oslo," "Sweat," "Indecent," and "A Doll's House, Part 2," which won nominations for stars Laurie Metcalf and Chris Cooper.

Only three shows were nominated for best musical revival: "Falsettos," "Miss Saigon" and "Hello, Dolly!"

The best play revival nominees were "Present Laughter," "August Wilson's Jitney," "Six Degrees of Separation" and "Lillian Hellman's The Little Foxes," which won nominations for actresses Laura Linney and Cynthia Nixon.

Joining Midler, whose turn in "Hello, Dolly!" has been breaking box office records, as best actress in a musical, are Patti LuPone and Christine Ebersole in "War Paint," Denée Benton for "Natasha, Pierre & The Great Comet of 1812" and Eva Noblezada in "Miss Saigon."

Blanchett, who made her Broadway debut in "The Present," is joined by Jennifer Ehle ("Oslo") in addition to Field ("The Glass Menagerie"), Linney and Metcalf.

The other best play actor nominees were Denis Arndt in "Heisenberg," Kevin Kline in "Present Laughter," Jefferson Mays in "Oslo" and Corey Hawkins in "Six Degrees of Separation."

Joining Groban and Pierce for best musical actor are Christian Borle in "Falsettos," Andy Karl for "Groundhog Day" and Ben Platt in "Dear Evan Hansen."

The Tony Awards will be presented on June 11 at Manhattan's Radio City Music Hall in a ceremony headlined by film and stage star Kevin Spacey.

(Reporting by Chris Michaud; Editing by Jeffrey Benkoe, Bernard Orr)