10 Whiting award winners announced; prize $50,000

AP News
Posted: Oct 25, 2011 10:32 PM
10 Whiting award winners announced; prize $50,000

Ten emerging writers including a novelist in New York City and a poet in Casa Grande, Ariz., are among this year's winners of the Whiting Writers' Awards.

The prize is worth $50,000 per winner. It's given out annually to writers of "exceptional talent and promise."

The recipients announced Tuesday include Manhattan-based novelist Teddy Wayne and fellow fiction writers Ryan Call, Scott Blackwood and Daniel Orozco. Arizona's Eduardo C. Corral was among four poets cited, along with Don Mee Choi, Kerri Webster and Shane McCrae. The other winners were nonfiction author Paul Clemens and playwright Amy Herzog.

Ford's Classmate Now Changing Her Story
Cortney O'Brien

Previous Whiting winners include Jonathan Franzen, Tony Kushner and Jeffrey Eugenides.