Ashbery, Kaplan to receive honorary book awards

AP News
Posted: Sep 22, 2011 1:27 PM
Ashbery, Kaplan to receive honorary book awards

Poet John Ashbery and bookseller Mitchell Kaplan will receive honorary National Book Awards.

Ashbery is a complex and highly acclaimed poet known for such collections as "Self-Portrait in a Convex Mirror." He is this year's winner of the Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. "Self-Portrait," published in 1975, won the National Book Award, the Pulitzer Prize and the National Book Critics Circle award.

Kaplan, whose Books & Books in Florida is among the country's leading independent stores, has won the Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community. Kaplan also co-founded the Miami Book Fair International and is a former president of the American Booksellers Association, a trade group representing independent stores.

The awards were announced Thursday by the National Book Foundation, which sponsors the National Book Awards. Honorary and competitive prizes will be presented at a ceremony Nov. 16 in New York. Actor-author John Lithgow is to serve as host.