Washington state regulators says Puget Sound Energy improperly charged a residential-visit disconnect fee to electricity and natural gas customers.
The Washington Utilities and Transportation Commission staff says the utility should refund the $13 fee to more than 1,600 customers. The utility also could be fined as much as $1,000 for each violation.
The fee cannot be charged for a visit other than a disconnect, such as leaving a termination notice.
Puget Sound Energy has 20 days to respond.