26 Alabama counties get farm aid due to weather

AP News
Posted: Dec 12, 2011 4:13 PM
26 Alabama counties get farm aid due to weather

The U.S. Department of Agriculture has declared 26 Alabama counties eligible for agricultural assistance due to crop losses from severe weather in April.

A spokesman for the state Department of Agriculture said six counties were declared primary natural disaster areas. They are: Blount, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Monroe and Morgan counties.

Another 20 counties qualify because they are contiguous. They are: Baldwin, Butler, Clarke, Colbert, Conecuh, Cullman, Escambia, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Limestone, Marshall, St. Clair, Walker, Wilcox and Winston.

Farmers in the 26 counties can apply for emergency loan assistance from the Farm Service Agency and for financial assistance from the Supplemental Revenue Assistance Payments Program.

The disaster declaration stems from heavy rain, flash flooding, hail, high winds and tornadoes that hit parts of Alabama.