Vilsack names 2 Louisianans to peanut board

AP News
Posted: Nov 17, 2009 12:02 PM

Two Louisianans have been appointed to the National Peanut Board.

Francis V. Jordan III, of Rayville, was one of three members reappointed to the board by U.S. Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack. John F. Shackleford, of Mer Rouge, was reappointed as an alternate.

The three-year terms begin Jan. 1.

Other members named were John Harrell of Whigham, Ga.; Edward M. Rast Jr., of Cameron, S.C.; and Bob White of Clarendon, Texas. Three new alternates also were picked.

The board is designed to promote the peanut industry and to expand and develop new markets. It is funded by a tax on peanut farmers' crop values.