Felipe VI Proclaimed King of Spain

Townhall.com Staff
|
Posted: Jun 19, 2014 8:32 AM

Felipe VI has acceded to the Spanish throne after the abdication of his father became official at midnight Central European Time (11pm BST, 6pm EST). Spanish daily ABC reports that the new king will formally swear an oath in front of the Spanish parliament later today, in the presence of his wife, the new Queen Letizia, and two daughters.