Recession on Townhall

Political Calculations - Mon Oct 14

Steve Chapman - Thu Sep 26

Political Calculations - Sun Jul 14

Political Calculations - Sun Jun 9

Mike Shedlock - Thu May 16

France slipped into its third recession in four years as Germany barely went into positive territory, underperforming general expectations. ... more

Political Calculations - Fri May 10

The recent rally in stock prices, beginning after 15 November 2012, is a direct result of these companies' reaction to the fiscal cliff crisis. ... more

Donald Lambro - Fri Apr 5

WASHINGTON - President Obama heads into the third month of his second term, still unable to find a cure for a sluggish economy, weak employment numbers and his own slipping job approval scores. ... more

John Ransom - Mon Mar 25

Despite the farcical forecasts of government economists, Columbia journalism students, and assorted illiterate money scribblers of all varieties, this is not the best recession in the history of mankind, although history might dub it "The Greatest Recession." ... more

Reuters News - Fri Mar 1

John Ransom - Fri Feb 8

Despite the farcical forecasts of government economists, Columbia journalism students, and assorted illiterate money scribblers of all varieties, this is not the best recession in the history of mankind. The best recession in the history of mankind would be a recession minus Barack Obama as president of United States. ... more

Jeff Crouere - Sat Feb 2

Is a higher unemployment rate of 7.9 percent really good news? According to the Associated Press, it was an “upbeat” report. ... more

Paul Jacob - Mon Dec 24

We have it so good we have to make up things to frighten ourselves. Those adept at this art sell a lot of tickets, and get rich. ... more

Michael Barone - Thu Dec 13

Is Barack Obama bluffing when he threatens to go over the fiscal cliff if Republicans refuse to agree to higher tax rates on high earners? ... more

Austin Hill - Sun Dec 9

Today, just three weeks away from 2013, there is reason to believe that our President and his Administration – and perhaps his party, as a whole – is “embracing” recession, as though it is an appropriate means to a necessary end. ... more

Political Calculations - Wed Nov 28

Through September 2012, we find the year-over-year growth rate of trade between the two nations is at near-zero levels of growth, indicating near recessionary conditions if we take this measure as an indication of the relative health of the economies of both nations. ... more

John C. Goodman - Sat Nov 17

Full time work is about to get scarcer. The reason? By hiring part-time workers who put in less than 30 hours per week, employers can avoid a mandate dictated by the new health reform law: either provide expensive health insurance or pay a fine equal to $2,000 per worker. ... more

Political Calculations - Sat Nov 10

The probability of recession in the U.S. suddenly surged to the 20% level from the 2% level recorded a month earlier. ... more