Lyndon Johnson on Townhall

Linda Chavez - Fri Jul 4

Rich Tucker - Thu May 22

Thomas Sowell - Thu Jan 23

Star Parker - Mon Jan 13

Cal Thomas - Thu Jan 2

Ken Blackwell - Sat Dec 7

Bill Murchison - Tue Nov 19

Thomas Sowell - Tue Jun 18

Star Parker - Mon Jan 28

Journalist Bill Moyers, who worked as an assistant to President Lyndon Johnson, shared memories in a column last year about how his old boss thought about our entitlement programs. ... more

Paul Greenberg - Fri Nov 9

The old boy walked the bike out the door of his house in Little Rock and into Heaven, aka autumn in Arkansas. In all its burning-tree glory. ... more

Paul Greenberg - Tue Oct 30

In 1968, it was called the credibility gap. Lyndon Johnson was no longer able to make it seem we were winning the war in Vietnam. Not that he hadn't tried. ... more

Pat Buchanan - Fri Oct 26

Early in Ronald Reagan's second term, Bill Rusher, the publisher of National Review, was interviewing the president in the Oval Office for a documentary on the conservative movement. ... more

Fred Lucas - Sun Sep 23

The Democratic National Committee, with the approval of President Lyndon B. Johnson engaged in an effort that eventually led to the U.S. Supreme Court ruling on the Fairness Doctrine. What would have been a major scandal had it been discovered, was revealed years later in former CBS News president Fred Friendly’s book “The Good Guys, the Bad Guys and the First Amendment.” ... more

John C. Goodman - Sat Sep 8

The Democratic Party is supposed to be the party of government. That idea was reinforced at the Democratic convention this week in a video that had this memorable line: "The government is the only thing we all belong to." But there is another saying worth remembering: "Actions speak louder than words." ... more

Ken Blackwell - Tue Sep 4

Congressman Paul Ryan (R-Wis.) struck a nerve during his acceptance speech in Tampa, Florida last week. He put his finger on the Obama vision for America and in doing so, may have given Americans a jolt. ... more

Bill Murchison - Tue Aug 28

As Lyndon Johnson told it -- or allowed it to be told in his name -- this Goldwater guy, if given half a chance, would blow up the world. In which case, why shouldn't the voters back in '64 not play it safe and keep LBJ in the White House? ... more

Bill Murchison - Tue May 1

The thing about Lyndon Johnson -- and you may be sure I kept a close adolescent eye on him while he was one of my two U.S. senators -- was that he knew what he was doing. There was more to it even than that. He knew how to get things done. ... more