Food Stamps on Townhall

Christine Rousselle - Fri Apr 17

Seven limes. Seven. Limes. ... more

Leah Barkoukis - Sun Apr 12

Maine has already seen a drastic reduction in the number of able-bodied adults with no children that are collecting food stamps from the state thanks to new rules put in place by Republican Gov. Paul LePages administration. ... more

Christine Rousselle - Sat Apr 11

Admirable, kind of. ... more

Vivian Hughbanks - Tue Mar 31

Budget legislation passed by Congress last week includes cuts to some welfare programs, like the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP). The cuts have already attracted backlash from left wing activist groups like the feminist group UltraViolet, which launched a campaign to petition Congress to restore the funding. ... more

Kevin Glass - Sat Jan 17

"Waste, fraud, and abuse." It's the most popular target for DC politicians who want to talk about cutting government spending but don't want to actually cut any programs. ... more

Sarah Jean Seman - Sun Dec 28

Welcome to Montana's new one-stop wonder. ... more

Sarah Jean Seman - Tue Sep 16

For every job created in the state of Illinois two people sign-up for food stampsnot exactly an encouraging statistic. ... more

Kevin Glass - Sun Aug 3

The Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP, commonly referred to as food stamps) has seen a meteoric rise in enrollment in the last fifteen years, and especially in the wake of the 2008 recession. ... more

Christine Rousselle - Thu Jun 12

Yikes. ... more

Leah Barkoukis - Tue Feb 25

“Absolutely dangerous” and “just devastating” were the words used by former Vice President Dick Cheney to describe the Obama administration’s plans to make drastic cuts to the U.S. Army, which would scale back ground forces to its lowest point since World War II. ... more

Steve Chapman - Thu Feb 13

Conn Carroll - Wed Feb 12

Sen. Mike Lee (R-UT) is introducing legislation that would restore the food stamp work requirement President Obama repealed in 2009. ... more

Kevin Glass - Thu Feb 6

In a hearing with Congressional Budget Office Director Doug Elmendorf yesterday, GOP Rep. Paul Ryan discussed the CBO report's finding that work disincentives will cause the equivalent of more than two million full-time workers to leave the workforce. ... more

Kevin Glass - Sat Feb 1

Elected Democrats and movement progressives are up in arms over the meager cuts to the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP - commonly known as food stamps). ... more

Christine Rousselle - Mon Jan 27

Something is going terribly wrong. ... more