Drug Legalization on Townhall

Debra J. Saunders - Tue Jul 29

Steve Chapman - Thu Apr 10

Conn Carroll - Thu Apr 3

Townhall editors Leah Barkoukis and Christine Rousselle debate whether or not the federal government should pull back on the War on Drugs. ... more

Jacob Sullum - Wed Mar 5

Christine Rousselle - Tue Feb 25

Is anyone surprised? ... more

Jacob Sullum - Wed Jan 29

Daniel J. Mitchell - Sun Jan 26

John Hawkins - Tue Jan 21

Rebecca Hagelin - Thu Jan 9

Jacob Sullum - Wed Jan 8

Christine Rousselle - Tue Nov 5

This will encourage the efforts of pro-marijuana advocates across the nation. ... more

Christine Rousselle - Sun Oct 20

Following victories in Washington and Colorado, marijuana legalization advocates are focusing their efforts on Maine, Vermont, New Hampshire, and Massachusetts. ... more

Debra J. Saunders - Tue Aug 27

Jacob Sullum - Wed Aug 21

Robert Knight - Tue Aug 6

Katie Kieffer - Mon Feb 25

El Chapo haunts the streets of Chicago. His ghost hordes cash in Los Angeles stash houses. His shadow darkens underground tunnels between Mexico and the U.S. His spirit drives his clan to bloodshed. The world’s most-wanted kingpin may be dead. But the Sinaloa cartel will thrive until America legalizes drugs. ... more

Steve Chapman - Sun Jan 20

As recreational drugs go, marijuana is relatively benign. Unlike alcohol, it doesn't stimulate violence or destroy livers. Unlike tobacco, it doesn't cause lung cancer and heart disease. The worst you can say is that it produces intense, unreasoning panic. Not in users, but in critics. ... more

Debra J. Saunders - Sun Dec 16

"Mandatory sentences breed injustice," Judge Roger Vinson told the New York Times. ... more

Jacob Sullum - Wed Nov 14

Seventy-five years, millions of arrests and billions of dollars later, we are still living with the consequences of that ignorant, ill-considered decision, which nationalized a policy that punishes peaceful people and squanders taxpayer money in a blind vendetta against a plant. ... more

Jacob Sullum - Wed Sep 19

The New York Times obituary for Thomas Szasz, who died this month at the age of 92, says his critique of psychiatry "had some merit in the 1950s ... but not later on, when the field began developing more scientific approaches." ... more

John Stossel - Wed Aug 29

Forty years ago, the United States locked up fewer than 200 of every 100,000 Americans. Then President Nixon declared war on drugs. ... more