Defense Spending on Townhall

Rachel Marsden - Tue Oct 4

In September 2010, the German news magazine Der Spiegel explained that Russian Prime Minister Vladimir Putin has a "soft spot for the Arctic," with Putin saying Russia "will put huge amounts of money into environmental protection" and is "planning to do a serious spring cleaning of our Arctic territories." ... more Staff - Mon Sep 19

Earl Tilford - Sun Aug 7

The U.S. military needs massive restructuring. The National Security Act of 1947 institutionalized the Industrial Age force extant today. Now, the armed forces of the United States would be hard-pressed to counter a North Korean invasion of South Korea without using nuclear weapons. ... more Staff - Fri Aug 5

Bob Beauprez - Fri Aug 5

There is a deep ideological divide. Democrats want to start with tax increases which are anathema to the GOP. And, the closer the 2012 elections get the more difficult it will be to find a point of compromise. Neither side is inclined to budge, nor give the other any legitimate claim to victory. ... more

Jacob Sullum - Wed Aug 3

Two weeks ago, The New York Times reported that Republicans "want a vastly smaller government." Last week, the Times called the dispute about raising the federal debt ceiling "an epic clash over the parties' divergent views on the size and role of the federal government." ... more

Rachel Marsden - Tue Jul 19

"Some argue that Obama is merely a victim who was in the wrong place at the wrong time when the till ran empty." ... more Staff - Mon Jul 11

Steve Chapman - Sun Jul 10

Politicians often rail against government spending, except when it goes to the military. Conservatives believe there is no such thing as too much defense spending, and liberals don't argue, for fear of being labeled appeasers. ... more

Erika Johnsen - Thu Jul 7

John Ransom - Tue Jul 5

We had a shortage of liberals this week on the message boards and emails. But we have enough to make a scrum. So here’s “have at it” for this week’s edition of Email, Hate Mail and Comments from Readers. ... more Staff - Fri Jul 1

Caroline Glick - Tue Jun 21

Robert Gates's recent remarks signal that the president's handling of US foreign affairs is about to undergo a dramatic transformation. ... more