Chris Edwards on Townhall

Chris Edwards - Sun Apr 13

Chris Edwards - Sun Mar 30

Chris Edwards - Mon Mar 24

Chris Edwards - Sun Mar 2

Chris Edwards - Mon Dec 16

Chris Edwards - Mon Oct 21

Chris Edwards - Mon Oct 14

Chris Edwards - Sun Oct 6

Chris Edwards - Tue Sep 24

Tad DeHaven - Sun Sep 8

Chris Edwards - Mon Jul 8

If you look at the history of the oldest federal agencies—such as the Bureau of Indian Affairs and the Corps of Engineers—you will find scandals, mismanagement, and cost overruns from the the beginning. ... more

Chris Edwards - Fri Jul 5

The folly of monopoly unionism (“collective bargaining”) in government is most evident when labor unions strike. ... more

Chris Edwards - Mon May 27

there is an elephant in the room that the many reporters and politicians blustering over the issue have been too ideologically blind to see: There is no obvious harm being done by today’s corporate tax avoidance. ... more

Chris Edwards - Sun May 26

Note that it is the firing rate of poor performers that is especially low in the federal government, meaning workers who are lazy or produce poor work. One barrier to their firing is that managers often give these workers good performance reviews because they don’t want to rock the boat. ... more

Chris Edwards - Sun May 19

Past IRS abuses have stemmed from foul play by both politicians and bureaucrats. As for the bureaucrats, investigations during the 1990s revealed how IRS enforcement had run amok, with abusive tactics being used against small businesses and other taxpayers. ... more

Chris Edwards - Mon May 13

Conservative and libertarian scholars are clashing over the findings and political implications of the new Heritage Foundation immigration study. The study, however, also provides a very useful exploration into how massive the American welfare state has become. ... more

Chris Edwards - Mon May 6

Government spending certainly helps the government-dependent parts of the U.S. economy. But most Americans live in the private economy, and so they might like to know how government budget actions affect the economy that they live in. ... more

Chris Edwards - Mon Apr 22

Taxpayers are paying for billions of dollars of junk food, which seems like a huge waste of money to most people. ... more

Chris Edwards - Mon Mar 18

Some people are complaining that the sequester is too broad-based, and that it would have been better to target just the most wasteful programs. But members of Congress don’t agree on which programs are wasteful. ... more

Chris Edwards - Sun Feb 24

Grover Cleveland says “yes.” Calvin Coolidge says “yes.” Chris Edwards says “yes.” ... more

Chris Edwards - Mon Feb 18

Economic research has only a tenuous relationship to economic policymaking in Washington. President Obama’s new proposal to raise the federal minimum wage from $7.25 to $9.00 is a case in point. ... more