CBO on Townhall

Donald Lambro - Thu Feb 2

The Congressional Budget Office gave us a forecast preview Wednesday of the frightening fiscal catastrophe that threatens to engulf the government in a sea of debt. ... more

Kevin Glass - Wed Dec 14

Buried within the Congressional Budget Office's most recent report on the progress of President Obama's American Recovery and Reinvestment Act was a surprising admission: the CBO now estimates the stimulus might have been only half as effective as previously thought. ... more

Reuters News - Fri Oct 21

Reuters News - Thu Oct 20

Bob Beauprez - Tue Oct 18

Bloomberg doubted Zandi and the President's projections, too. They surveyed 34 other economists. Not one was as optimistic as Zandi. In fact the average job creation estimate by the group was a paltry 288,000. Five said the legislation would produce zero new jobs. Since Obama's wants to spend $447 billion to get there, if the average estimate were to come true that works out to $1.6 million per job. ... more

AP News - Fri Oct 14

Michael Medved - Wed Oct 12

Considered in isolation, payroll tax cuts in the jobs bill look like a crass political stunt: reducing revenues by $240 billion next year and then magically disappearing right after the November elections. ... more

Reuters News - Mon Oct 10

Hugh Hewitt - Thu Sep 29

There's a stimulus plan that President Obama could put forward that would attract strong bipartisan support and which would also produce great jobs at great wages while strengthening the nation's defenses. ... more

Townhall.com Staff - Wed Sep 14

As a junior in high school, the word “college” is ever present in my mind—and on the lips of my parents. The phrases “grades count,” “you need money; get a job,” and “student loans” have become like background music to my life. From the age of twelve, I have been tucking away my babysitting earnings in the bank in the eager hopes that it would someday become enough to pay for college. ... more