Steve1201 Wrote:
Nov 07, 2012 11:11 PM
Going back further, the last president before Hoover to lose re-election without a 3rd party candidate in the race was Benjamin Harrison 40 years earlier in 1892. He lost to Grover Cleveland who had been president 4 years before that. Then you have to go all the way back to Martin Van Buren in 1840. So there have been 3 presidents in the last 172 years.