In response to:

Mike Lee: Senators Only Had Six Minutes to Read “Fiscal Cliff” Bill Before Voting

Nanuq Wrote: Jan 04, 2013 12:44 PM
I remember a promise that we will have 72 hours to read every piece of legislation before it becomes law. I remember a promise that this will be the most open and transparent administration in history. Bottom line: Obama is a liar. There is no explanation.
mlew Wrote: Jan 04, 2013 5:16 PM
How can you blame Obama. I am a conservative and I am damned mad at our own Senators and Congressmen who voted for this including McConnell, Boehner, Ryan, McCain, and many, many others.
hillplus Wrote: Jan 04, 2013 5:50 PM
YES!!! Keep Mike Lee, Rand Paul and a half dozen others.....throw the rest of the bums out!!
FlamingLiberalMultiCulturalist Wrote: Jan 04, 2013 1:25 PM
Simplifying to exactly 52 weeks, there are 24 x 7 x 52 = 8736 hours in a year. Let's be stingy and let congress sleep for 1/4 or 2184 of them, leaving 6552 waking hours. I will not even consider the working habits of the typical denizen of the Legislative branch, likely it'd just make you mad. Now, at 72 hrs/bill that leaves room for 92 bills, possible for the lazy 2012 congress (61 bills) but just out of the question for those workaholics of 2008 (280 bills) or 2006 (313 bills).

And remember, the Congressfolk have to read them *BEFORE* they become law! That includes all the ones that don't make it! And all the ones that don't make it out of their own chamber!

In other words, this is a stupid thing to write a column about.

What could go wrong, right? According to Utah Republican Senator Mike Lee, members of the upper chamber had -- at most -- six minutes to read the “fiscal cliff” bill before they voted on it. Little wonder, then, that the so-called “compromise” (save for a few silver linings) was in many respects a complete and total disaster (via Reason):

“Everything about this bill was a failure…you need look no further than the fact that we were given a total of six minutes before we voted on it. Not one single Senator who voted...